glad to be friends

I just ran across this verse today:

No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from my father I have made known to you (John 15:15).

And it made my heart skip a beat.  Jesus calls us friends.  And not only that, everything he’s heard from his father he’s made known to us.  Just think about that for a second.  That’s freaking amazing.  There are no secrets meant for just Jesus and his father.  He’s let us in on their relationship.  He’s revealed mysteries, depths, heights, shadows…Lord, give us eyes to see.

I just have to love a guy like that.  He’s so…so…freaking amazing!  I don’t have to be a servant.  I get to be a friend.  Which is ironic, because what do friends do?  Serve each other in love.  I guess the difference is we’re on equal standing, and he has no need to command me to do anything, since what I do, I will do out of love.

Equality.  The word has been worth fighting for, for some in my greater family of African-American brothers and sisters, worth dying for.  I am honored and humbled that I have a Lord, nay, a friend who could be a master, but chooses otherwise.

I sometimes wonder how it’s possible he can be as wonderful as he is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

