To the Dads

Totally enjoying cooking Mike’s Father’s Day breakfast with the ghee a friend gave me.  It smells sooooo good. I still haven’t successfully made a “pretty” omelette, but they taste pretty delish, so I’ll keep trying!

I’ve seen this floating around a lot lately, but I thought it was worth re-posting. It’s kind of like the idea of godparents taken to the next level. When author and father Bruce Feiler found out that he had a rare form of cancer, one of the worries that ran through his mind was, “who will father my dauthers if I die from this?” Feiler then formed a “Council of Dads”, a group of six men who knew him well, that agreed to do their best to share Feiler’s voice and help teach his daughters the life lessons he would have. It’s a beautiful story, and I think one parents could all learn from – one of the great things I took away from it was that we don’t have to wait until we discover we have a life-threatening illness to form this kind of support network for our children. Even while I’m still on this earth, there will be times I won’t be able to be there for our daughter, but I hope she will know she has other women, women I (and she) love and trust, whom she could go to for help and advice and comfort.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank all the dads and would-be dads out there like Feiler who are so cognizant of how they are shaping their children. It truly is a gorgeous thing to see – a man, fathering. Your presence and intention are invaluable gifts. May your day be filled with much joy and, as I’m sure it’s needed, rest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To the Dads

  1. Ali says:

    A good friend threw a sleepover for her 13-yr-old daughter’s birthday. Difference was, the guests were all of my friend’s adult women (most of whom were also mothers) friends. My friend did not attend. The point was to allow her daughter a night with amazing women, forming relationships, and allowing the trust to build. This inner circle comprises the women my friend would hope her daughter could turn to in a pinch, for advice, and for the things you just can’t share with your “mom” during the teenage years. Pretty freaking cool idea… 🙂

  2. Elissa says:

    I loved Feiler’s idea, too. Such a great way to surround your kids with other mindful adults who can be there for your kids when you can’t (or when you’re kids don’t want you to be!). I don’t meet too many other fathers who are all that much involved (in the raising of their kids) in my neck of the woods, so it’s a treat to see such care!

Leave a Reply

